notesbynora

Walking by Faith Alone

The Resolution List…

with 6 comments


A new year…fresh start…finally, the time to be the person I’ve always wanted to be, ridding myself of the past.  Time to do the things I’ve always wanted to do. Act the way I’ve always wanted to act.

We all do it, whether consciously or unconsciously. We make our lists of resolutions at the turn of the year to reach our ultimate goals and declare with vigor, this is the year I finally get it right!

Magnolia trees adorn my parents home in Dublin, Georgia. My brother Lindsey and I spent many hours climbing the trunks and hiding amongst the enormous leaves. Recently I returned home for Christmas and spent time just wandering around the place I grew up. One particular tree which we could reach the top in less than minutes now stands regally, thick in trunk, with branches that spread beyond my imagination. Smiling, I noticed an unnatural twist on one side and remembered swinging from the young, limber branches in an arched like fashion, landing feet first (most of the time) on the other side of the yard. We enjoyed hours of  summer fun supplied by the young tree; now, some 40 years later, it dominates the yard.

This morning in my prayers, I thought of the damaged trunk which my brother and I caused to the Magnolia tree. It reminded me of myself and endless conversations I have had with God. For several years I’ve prayed for God to take away pains of my past, things I do not want to have happened in my life. Ironically, I’m often teased by my family that life to me is “unicorn and rainbows.” Even in my prayers, I ask God to change the past. Remove what happened and make it straight again.  The tree came to mind. The unnatural twist in its trunk makes it uniquely beautiful – even more majestic than the other Magnolias as it stands sturdy, strong, and resistant despite the bend.

 His strength is made perfect in our weaknesses. Sometimes healing comes not by removing what has occurred but by taking the damage and turning it into something rare and special. In Ecclesiastes 7:12, “Consider what God has done: Who can straighten what he has made crooked?” I purposely did not capitalize the h in “he” because there are incidences in our lives that are caused by God for a very specific reason and others caused by Satan to defeat us. Either way, God is orchestrating the events of life, the good, the bad, the very things that we feel will destroy us, for a purpose far greater than we can imagine. When evil hurls a damaging blow, God uses it to make us majestically beautiful.

As you make your list remember a few simple tips:

1. Your ending is far more important than your beginning. Sometimes we spend too much effort looking at our past and trying to change it. Rear view mirrors are for glances. What’s ahead of you is far more important to God than what’s behind you. Plan accordingly.

2. Use your bends and twists. You are a survivor and what has happened in your life can be used as a source of strength. When obstacles come your way, when bad things happen, realize where you’ve been and who brought you through it.

3. You do have a choice. Each of us chooses every day whether to live in anger and despair over all the unfairness of life or to choose joy. The blessings in your life are just as significant as the difficulties. Give them each the proper weight.

4. Make Faith your first decision. Sometimes having faith is the last result. Make it your first. Believe first that God will handle the situation for your benefit instead of waiting until you have no other route to decide God can help.

5. Decide this is the year… you fill in the blanks.

Those who truly understand the value of knowing God will exchange all that they have to follow Him. Make this your year.

 

Written by Nora Hatchett Almazan

December 30, 2011 at 2:35 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOVE IT. May your blessings multiply in 2012 🙂

    lhmiller

    December 30, 2011 at 2:47 pm

  2. As I read this, I pictured the house on 441, and retraced a lot of memories myself of the things that God has brought me through. “Great is His Faithfulness.” Your blog is such a blessing, beautifully worded, piercing our thoughts. True, life is not “rainbows and unicorns,” there are storms along the way. Bill used to say, “Sometimes God does not calm the storms, but He calms His children in the midst of the storms.” Through those storms, we truly experience His presence. Keep up the encouraging words, people need encouragement today more than ever. Love you, girl.

    Carol Weeks

    December 30, 2011 at 3:57 pm

  3. I randomly came across this blog.This is something I needed to hear, today, right now, for my life. I guess nothing is “really” random. While I do not have the relationship you have with your God, you have given me much to consider. I have subscribed to receive your blog. I am “catching-up” on your life. If you are who you are displayed to be in the writings I have read, your ex-husband is beyond an “idiot.” I guarantee you have many men standing in the wings. Keep writing. You are going to make a huge difference in the lives of christians, muslims, atheist, and anyone with breath.

    David

    December 30, 2011 at 4:18 pm

  4. Nora, sometime we should talk. How is it that what you have to say is always what I need to hear? …and again, God uses ALL things for good to those who love the Lord! 🙂 Love you, dear friend and may you have a peaceful, blessed and joy-filled new year.

    Paula Gibson

    December 30, 2011 at 7:39 pm

  5. Edifying as always, Nora. Thanks for sharing your heart.

    deairby

    December 31, 2011 at 3:22 am

  6. nora, i graduated a year before you, and saw renies posting of your blog which led me to this. beautiful. and thanks.

    debbie baugus

    December 31, 2011 at 5:31 pm


Leave a comment